Another shuttered campground of the southern Los Padres, Juncal was at the junction of the Romero-Camuesa and Juncal roads, on the banks of the Santa Ynez. Blakley and Burtness both relate how it was once known as Bear Camp, and how this old spot — now little more than a pleasant oak-lined flat suitable for picnicking — was a CCC camp in 1935–36. In subsequent decades it was something of a mecca for amateur (and professional) geologists studying the nearby formations.
Juncal camp once featured six sites, a pair of barbecue pits, and tables for its campers. Now, however, footings of the double latrine and an incongruous western juniper near the eastern edge of the flat are really all that is left to bear testament to its former use. It was closed in 2000 due to vandalism and as part of larger efforts to protect the habitat of the red-legged frog [or arroyo toad .. or both? — ed.].
Another diamond in the rough.